Marijuana as an ADD Medication?

19 05 2010

Just read an interesting article from an individual who claims to use weed as an effective medication to battle Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD). docpot

My personal experience is that it takes away any real ability for me to concentrate on anything for any significant period of time, but hey – that’s me! I know that I have trouble concentrating at the best of times and am easily distracted.

LOOK: A Blue car!!!

But I digress; if this works as a good alternative to more invasive medications in the battle against ADD, then more power to him!

Here is a little bit from the article:

I had smoked it before and enjoyed it, but never while I was taking my medication.  A couple tokes and my headaches disappear, my appetite comes back with a vengeance, and my panicked paranoia melts into comparatively blissful relaxation.  A couple more, and I can get a full night of deep, restful sleep, something I have trouble with even without amphetamines in my system.  Even when I’m not taking Adderall, marijuana helps: my ADD causes my thoughts to jump constantly from topic to topic, my hands get restless if they’re not continuously occupied and I’m always twitchy (which is exhausting when you do it all day) – all of this is much better when I’m stoned.  Plus, it’s fun!  I can stare at the wall forever if I want to!  Maybe that’s not such a novelty to you, but for me, it’s like having a superpower.

Check out the whole article here:

http://andrewsullivan.theatlantic.com/the_daily_dish/2010/05/the-cannabis-closet-add.html

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

